European Hotel Design Awards 2014 Open for Entries

    150 150 Daniel Fountain
    • 0

    The European Hotel Design Awards 2014 is now open for entries.

    Internationally acclaimed as the leading pan-European competition to focus on excellence in hotel architecture and design, the Awards are organised by Sleeper magazine and attract the hospitality industry’s brightest stars competing in a variety of categories. The winning tastemakers will be revealed during a dinner and ceremony at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge in London on 25 November.Widely celebrated for their visionary role in establishing the value of hotel design, The Awards are distinguished by a meticulous and comprehensive judging process based not only on creative merit but also on commercial viability. Each shortlisted entry is visited by a member from the panel of judges. Refreshed annually, this jury encompasses the highest calibre of industry experts selected to ensure a diverse range of professional opinions are represented.

    Chair of the judging panel in 2014 will be Celia Geyer, Senior Director, Architecture & Design, Global Design Services – Europe + North Africa for Hilton Worldwide. “As a benchmark for excellence, innovation and creativity, the European Hotel Design Awards bring gravitas and recognition not just to the design community but across the hospitality industry as a whole,” she says. “The breadth and diversity of projects entered make this one of the industry’s top accolades, and I look forward to chairing this prestigious competition.”

    Additional confirmed members of the judging panel to date include: Caroline Cundall – Associate Director, GA Design; Catarina Mollen-Runas – VD / CEO, Nordic Property Management; Daniel Englender – Managing Director, Benjamin West; Eileen Keribar – Founder, Proxi Advisory; Eugene Staal – Senior Vice President, Technical Development, Rezidor; Guy Dittrich – Freelancer Writer & Moderator; Inge Moore – President Europe, HBA; Javier Hortal – Project Leader EMEA, Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group; Matt Turner – Editor, Sleeper Magazine; Sarah Camilleri – Editor and Publisher, European Spa Magazine; Sybil de Margerie – Founder, SM Design; and Sören Hullberg – Founder, Story Hotels.

    European Hotel Design Awards 2014 Categories

    The Architecture Awards:
    1. Adaptive Re-Use
    2. Renovation
    3. Newbuild

    The Interior Design Awards:
    1. Bar
    2. Bedrooms & Bathrooms
    3. Café or All Day Dining
    4. Lobby, Lounge & Public Spaces
    5. Restaurant
    6. Spa & Wellness
    7. Suite

    The Tomorrow’s Hotel Award (in association with Arup Foresight + Innovation + Research)
    The Outstanding Contribution Award (for an individual, selected by the judges)
    The European Hotel Design of The Year Award (chosen from entries into the above categories)

    Imagination and style were in abundant supply in 2013, raising the bar even higher for this year’s entries. The Alpina Gstaad designed by The Gallery HBA stole the show, winning three awards including the coveted European Hotel Design of the Year. Honoured with The Outstanding Contribution of the Year Award was Ian Schrager, co-founder of Studio 54 nightclub and originator of the boutique hotel concept in the ‘80s as well as many other ground-breaking ‘modern lifestyle’ concepts which have revolutionised the hospitality industry.

    The deadline for entries is Friday, 31st May, with the shortlist to be announced on Friday, 25th July 2014. For further details and to submit entries visit:

    Daniel Fountain / 28.04.2014

    Editor, Hotel Designs


    • 0