Roca’s international design competition ‘Jumpthegap’ returns

    Roca's international design competition 'Jumpthegap' returns
    591 429 Daniel Fountain
    • 0

    Roca is encouraging UK students and professionals of architecture, design and engineering to enter an international competition that could win them up to €10,000.

    ‘Jumpthegap’ was launched in 2004 by bathroom brand Roca in collaboration with BCD Barcelona Design Centre. The competition returns in 2017 and is open to creative professionals and students under the age of 35, to create innovative and sustainable concepts for the bathroom space.

    This year’s competition coincides with Roca’s 100th anniversary and offers entrants the opportunity to win two awards of €10,000 in each of the professional and student categories as well as a special sustainability award of €6,000 from Roca’s ‘We Are Water Foundation’ (WAWF).

    Shortlisted projects will be selected by an esteemed group of global architecture and design professionals. Patrik Schumacher, Principal of Zaha Hadid Architects (above) will serve as President of the Jury along with Ma Yansong, Founding Principal of MAD Architects, and Royal College of Art design graduate Valentin Vodev. Sophie Thomas, Director of Thomas.Matthews agency in London and practitioner of sustainable design will help select the WAWF award.

    Sophie Thomas - Ma Yansong

    Sophie Thomas – Ma Yansong

    Registration is open until 15 March 2017 at, with the final design submission deadline on 19 April 2017. Winners will be selected in the summer and an award ceremony will take place in the autumn. Specific dates to be announced in due course.

    Jury members – Professional and Student Awards:
    Patrik Schumacher (Jury President) – Principal of Zaha Hadid Architects Benedetta Tagliabue, Architect and Director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue, Italy
    Ma Yansong, Architect and Founding Principal of MAD Architects, China
    Vladimir Pirojkov, Designer and President of the Industrial Design and Innovation Centre ASTRAROSSA, Russia
    Anjali Srinivasan, Director of the ChoChoMa studios and winner of the Swarovski Designer of the Future Award 2016, India
    Valentin Vodev, graduated from London’s Royal College of Art and Founder of Vodev Studio, Bulgaria
    Josep Congost, Roca Design and Innovation Director, Spain
    Isabel Roig, Managing Director of BCD Barcelona Design Centre and former President of Bureau of European Design Associations, Spain

    Jury members – We Are Water Foundation Award:
    Xavier Torras (Jury President), Director, We Are Water Foundation, Spain
    Sophie Thomas, Designer and Founding Director of Thomas.Matthews Agency, UK
    Henk Ovink, Special Envoy for International Water Affairs, The Netherlands

    @jumpthegap / @RocaUK /

    Daniel Fountain / 16.01.2017

    Editor, Hotel Designs


    • 0